Killing Lions (John and Sam Eldridge) Book Review

Feels Like a Lot of Ramblings Compiled Into A Book.

http://www.amazon.com/Killing-Lions-Guide-Through-Trials/dp/149152281X

This book has a great, strong, masculine title. After opening the book up, I quickly lost the vibes that this book was going to deliver great stuff.

The first thing I’d tell you about this book is that it doesn’t read like the typical non fiction book. It’s based on conversations between a father and son, so there’s a chunk of the son’s writing, a chunk of the dad’s. That doesn’t seem like a big deal, in fact, it sounds like it could maybe even be a good idea. And I think it could. However, in this case I did not like it. Many times I wasn’t sure if I was reading John (Dad) or Sam’s (son) words. It seemed to jump around all the time, and I never knew where the book was headed. Maybe books that are labeled ‘guides’ or ‘handbooks’ just aren’t for me. Basically, it felt like a lot of ramblings compiled into a book.

Another criticism is that it felt like the authors went out of their way at times to be ‘edgy’. This included numerous references to drinking beer, being a little bit crass with their language, and some of the Sam’s questions about God. I’m just not sure if there was any benefit to these things. Are they attempting some shock value? Hoping to offend some? Did it serve a purpose? Or is that just the way they talk and they didn’t think about it? I don’t know.

So this book has a lot of great ratings, so surely there’s some great things about it? There are 2 things I liked about this book. One, I love the idea of the openness between a father and son to have honest, raw discussions like this. If they actually have what’s portrayed in the book, it’s pretty cool. Two, the book has some pretty great quotes from others. While the quotes are great (they were my favourite part of the book), what average guy pulls out quotes by famous dead guys in an average conversation? In a sense, all the quotes, while providing some solid content, make me question how much of the content of the book was actually from a real discussion, and how much was just fabricated to write what they thought would make a great book.

If you are able to pull out the good stuff amid the distracting (to me) format of this book, you may enjoy it, and even find it most helpful. But I didn’t.

I received a complimentary review copy of this book courtesy of Booklook Bloggers.

2/5 Paper Movement Stars

Killing Lions (John and Sam Eldridge) Book Review

Leave a Reply

