Joseph and the Gospel of Many Colors by Voddie Baucham Jr.

I loved the idea of this book, but in reality found it less than a joy to read. The language is easy, the logic simple to follow, I just didn’t find Voddie’s writing style overly engaging. There are a few personal stories/illustrations, but the majority of the book Baucham sticks to talking about the Bible. I’m fine with that. Actually, there is a lot of literal Bible within the book, which makes it convenient to study with and to check context.

 

Image

I support Voddie in his view that the Joseph story is about more than just Joseph, like the entire OT, it is written to point us forward to Jesus. My biggest drawback to this work is not the content but the presentation. It seems to fall somewhere between being a commentary and a book that you can just sit down and read. I have a hard time really milking a book like this for what I’m sure it could be worth. Perhaps the fault is my own.

The book is nicely formatted, broken into small chunks and paragraphs. I know Voddie is a smart man, yet he writes in a way you can understand.

There’s a lot of great stuff written in this book. If you’re able to read information-heavy work and keep your head in it, I’m sure it could be well worth your time. It’s a good book, yet in my eyes, not a great one, hence the 3 stars. It could be a great aid to a study on the book of Genesis. As a standalone book to just pick up and read it might be a struggle for the average layperson such as myself.

I received a complementary review copy of this book courtesy of Crossway Publishing.

3/5 Paper Movement Stars

Joseph and the Gospel of Many Colors by Voddie Baucham Jr.

Leave a Reply

