The Cover is The Best Part – King, by R.J. Larson (Book Review)

ImageI love the cover of this book – it looks like something magical and epic. Unfortunately, the words inside weren’t as captivating as the artwork. It’s not a poorly written book by any means. To me, it’s just not great.

I jumped into this book without having read the previous 2 books in the series, so take my review for what it’s worth since I don’t have the entire back story. I found it a little difficult trying to figure out who all the characters where, it seemed like there were too many names to remember. As the story moves along it gets a little easier.

The story is somewhat interesting, but not overly intriguing – a bit too predictable. I would’ve liked to see more action. The plot doesn’t feel real intense, even though the issue is important: Akabe’s wife’s love and her faith. Even though it seems like Akabe is to be the book’s main character at the end it feels like it’s mostly about what happens with the Queen.

What I enjoyed most about the book was the perspective it gave me on how it might’ve been for men of old who married a women with a foreign religion – as well as giving you the vantage point of the other party as well.

There were some entertaining moments, some things I could learn from, but at the end of the day it just wasn’t impressive enough for my palate.

I received a complimentary review copy of this book courtesy of Bethany House.

 

The Cover is The Best Part – King, by R.J. Larson (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

