A book I was actually glad to be finished reading

On the Grace of God, by Justin Holcomb (Book Review)

Judging from the horde of praises for this little book I was excited to get a chance to read it. I was quickly disappointed.

Why? Because of the impressions I had about this book before picking it up. It’s part of a series called “a book you’ll actually read”. To me, that implies a book that is easy and interesting, even for non-readers. Well, I enjoy reading, I love learning about Jesus and his grace, but this was tough slugging. I don’t think it’s much of a stretch to say that every third sentence is a quote from somebody else. It feels like very academic, impersonal writing. I expected this book to be simple, practical, and have the author draw me in with good writing, personal experience, etc.

Image

This is more of a resource/essay, not a book you’ll pick up and be shocked one hour later that you just read for an hour straight and forgot about the time.

Secondly, the book’s short, about 100 pages. You’re supposedly supposed to be able to knock it out in an hour. That seems like a stretch. I’m guessing it took about 2 hours for me to wade through it, and I’m a pretty fast reader. It doesn’t read like a novel, it’s pretty dense. The whole concept of this book, a small book you’ll actually read in just an hour seems a little misleading to me.

Content-wise this book is great, but if you’re looking for an easy read on grace for yourself or someone else I suggest you look elsewhere.

3/5 Paper Movement Stars

I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes courtesy of the publisher, Crossway Publishing.

A book I was actually glad to be finished reading

Leave a Reply

