A challenge to believe like Jesus

Prototype, by Jonathan Martin (Book Review)

I love the man desperate for God behind this book. Jonathan is a thinker, yet he writes in an easy, free-flowing manner full of story. He’s a man who wants Jesus. He’s a man making a difference in his city.

Image

There’s some really great lines in here. Martin can write some really majestic things! Yet I’m giving this book 3/5 stars. Why? To me, it just seemed lacking in clarity. Perhaps he tried to cover too broad a scope for my brain. According to the subtitle of the book, it’s a book about what happens when we discover we’re more like Jesus than we think. Yet once I was finished with the book, I couldn’t clearly land on what Martin was really trying to say here, what exactly the burden of the book is. By saying that, don’t assume he says nothing. He definitely has things to say, I just seemed to have a tough time tracking with where it all was heading.

Maybe he’s just not quite my style. I expect others will love this book. It’s good, it’s different. I read most of it one Sunday afternoon. It’s a great journey. Jonathan seems like a man unlike the norm. You can learn about Jesus from him.

Here’s a couple of his most brilliant writings from Prototype, in my opinion.

 

Many times in the Old testament, God refers to human beings as His beloved. But when God called Jesus His beloved, Jesus did something truly remarkable: He believed Him. And He lived every moment of His life fully convinced of His identity.

 

It is a fearful thing to behold someone who is truly human in all the ways that Jesus said we could be – precisely because we have nothing left to be afraid of. We have already faced the future, so the future is not intimidating to us anymore.

So would I recommend this book? Maybe. I want you to like it, I want you to connect, I want you to grow! But I’m just not sure how helpful it really is.

I received a complementary review copy of this book courtesy of Tyndale House Publishers.

A challenge to believe like Jesus

Leave a Reply

