Jesus & Toothpaste

It seldom happens [as I’m usually (actually this isn’t true) rushing to beat my insanely fast toothbrushing sweetheart at teeth brushing. I wander, meander, stall, and mindlessly roam about and haven’t even gotten past my first ‘section’ of teeth before she’s done. Come to think of it, I think she can LOAD UP her toothbrush, wet her toothbrush (which is backwards, it’s so much nicer when you wet, than load up), brush her teeth and rinse in the same amount of time that it takes me to hold my toothbrush under the tap to get it nice and wet.] that I have a moment of inspiration while brushing my teeth, but it happened. Here’s somewhat how it went, with a bit of writers’ drama added.

“What if Jesus would’ve tapped into His God attributes while on earth and came up with toothpaste that really, actually, totally worked? Goodbye dentist (Yahoo! [not the Google-ish thing]) kind of toothpaste. He’d take a look at the ingredients, scoff (but probably not), and say, “How about you try this, and this, and a bit of this, and a bit of that? I think you’ll find it works a little bit better.”

Come to think of it, did they even have toothpaste back then? Probably not.

My thoughts went on. “Imagine how different the world would be if Jesus would’ve pulled out His “Godness” to help us create stuff. BOOM. “This is called the “Jesus Computer”. It never crashes (the Windows dig), and you can actually afford it (the Apple dig).” Or take air conditioning. You know, you guys look fried. Voosh, solar powered AC. Ahh. Or maybe in the temple He sometimes thought, “Haha, these scrolls are so dated, I’d just love to show them an Ereader (Santa, are you listening? Kobo Glo!..Korey thoughts here, not Jesus’).

He could’ve made a fortune. Imagine the kind of entrepreneur Jesus could have been! “I bet people, camels, and donkeys would love cars. Let there be cars and wide open roads. Hmm..the speed limits and marble floored insurance companies can come in 2000 years. Nice.”

“Guys like the Apostle Paul are going to love my ASASB (Anti-Storm Anti-Sink Boat).”

“Cotton Candy would sure beat Olives.” (or just about anything else)

“I’ll put the scribes out of work with my Heidelberg Printing Presses”

“I’ll become an actor, I’ll start a band, I’ll write books, I’ll be a vet, I’ll be a doctor, I’ll be an inventor.”

But what DID Jesus do? He gave His life for a sinner like me.
That is utterly, astonishingly amazing.

Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Philippians 2:5-8 ESV

Jesus & Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

